IFAF on 06/29/2010

2010 IFAF Women's World Championship

2010 IFAF Women's World Championship

The world's best female American Football players will converge on Stockholm, the capital city of Sweden, from June 26 to July 4 for the inaugural International Federation of American Football (IFAF) Women's World Championship.

American football's female athletes representing the United States, Canada, Germany, Austria, Finland and Sweden will compete at the Zinkensdamms IP Stadium in Stockholm in the following groups:

Group A                       Group B

USA                              Canada

Austria                          Germany

Finland                          Sweden

The 2010 IFAF Women's World Championship will kick off on Sunday, June 27 when number one seed USA takes on Austria and host Sweden faces number two seed Canada.  Austria will be in action again on Tuesday, June 29 against Finland, along with Sweden against Germany. 

Games featuring Canada versus Germany and USA against Finland on Thursday, July 1 will complete the group play.  The top teams in each group will meet in the IFAF Women's World Championship Gold Medal Game on Saturday, July 3 following the Bronze Medal and fifth placed games.

Each of the six teams will face group opponents for the first time in history in women's American football, but international competition within the women's game is not without precedent since two previous games have been played in Scandinavia.  Finland hosted Sweden in 2008, winning 64-0 in Helsinki and again in 2009 when the Swedes played host to their neighbors as Finland triumphed again, this time by a score of 36-6.

"Women's tackle football is growing steadily in popularity and now IFAF is delighted to kick off this historic first ever international tournament in the history of our sport," said IFAF President TOMMY WIKING, who is also the President of the hosting Swedish American Football Federation (Svenska Amerikansk Fotbollsförbundet).

"It will be interesting to discover the rate of development of the women's game when these six countries take the field.  Other sports have grown and flourished as a result of their members entering competition and over time the margin of competitiveness has narrowed.  IFAF sees this tournament as a starting point for the women's game to prosper internationally and it is also an important component in our quest to see American football recognized as an Olympic sport."

2010 IFAF Women's World Championship schedule

Saturday, June 26, 2010

Teams arrive

Sunday, June 27, 2010

USA vs. Austria

Sweden vs. Canada

Monday, June 28

Rest day / Teams inactive on previous day have option to arrive

Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Finland vs. Austria

Germany vs. Sweden

Thursday, July 1, 2010

Canada vs. Germany

USA vs. Finland

Saturday, July 3, 2010

Fifth Place game

Bronze Medal game

Gold Medal game