news

12 July 2018

IFAF to link with renown CBC Sports to provide coverage from the legendary Estadio Olympico.

The International Federation of American Football (IFAF) and CBC Sports, the sports division of Canada’s national public broadcaster, today announced a two-year partnership, starting with coverage of the IFAF World Junior (U-19) from Estadio Olympico in Mexico City on July 14. 

The agreement will see CBC Sports, Canada’s home for high-performance sport, livestream every Football Canada game of the eight-day World Junior (U19) tournament at cbcsports.ca as well as via the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android devices, the CBC TV App and cbc.ca/watch, on July 14, 18 and 22.

Canada is the defending gold medallist at the event, having defeated the United States at the previous World Junior tournament in Harbin, China in 2016. 

The broadcasts are presented by Krown Countdown U, a weekly college football pregame and recap show broadcast on CHCH-DT across Canada. As part of the agreement, in 2018 Countdown U’s online home will be cbcsports.ca, with the new season beginning in August. 

“CBC Sports is a global leader for sports programming and we are proud to partner with them to showcase the future of the sport internationally,” IFAF President Richard MacLean said.

"CBC Sports is pleased to bring Team Canada’s pursuit of a third world junior championship to audiences across the country," said Greg Stremlaw, executive director, CBC Sports, and general manager, Olympics. "American football is one of the most popular sports in Canada and given our history of support for the game, CBC Sports is the natural fit to provide a home for fans to catch all of the action featuring homegrown athletes."

Krown Countdown U producer Jim Mullin said, “We’re honoured to be part of the CBC Sports family who have proven their commitment to promoting elite amateur sport to Canadians via new media. We are happy we can play a role in establishing football on the CBC Sports online platform with the continued support of Krown Produce.”

Team Canada’s defense of their gold medal starts July 14 when they face Sweden. 

Kim Wudrick, President of Football Canada added, “We are incredibly appreciative of CBC Sports’ and Krown’s support and promotion of our defending World Champion junior team. Canadians can now share their journey for a third world championship.”

The IFAF World Junior (U-19) can be viewed in Mexico on Maximo Avance. Fans outside of Canada and Mexico can watch either the English or Spanish language feeds for free via Yare Media’s IFAF portal at http://ifaf.yaretv.com, supported by AFI Review at americanfootballinternational.com.

 

2018 IFAF World Junior Championship Schedule

July 14th: Game Day 1 

US vs Australia                                   @ 10am PT/1pm ET 
Canada vs Sweden                              @ 2pm PT/5pm ET 
Mexico vs Japan                                 @ 6pm PT/9pm ET 

July 18th: Game Day 2 

Australia vs Sweden                           @ 9am PT/Noon ET 
Canada vs Loser of (Mexico vs Japan)@ Noon PT/3pm ET 
USA vs Winner of (Mexico vs Japan) @ 3pm PT/6pm ET

July 22nd: Final Game Day 3 

5th Place Game                                   @ 10am PT/1pm ET 
Bronze Medal game                           @ 2pm PT/5pm ET 
Gold Medal Game                              @ 6pm PT/9pm ET

 

Games in bold are available to watch as live streams at cbcsports.ca and via the CBC Sports app, accompanied by an English-language play-by-play broadcast team.

SHARE THIS ARTICLE

World Championship

World Championship

August 9-12. Click for Event Website