World Championship (m)

Home > EVENTS > World Championship (m)

The IFAF World Championship has been held every four years since 1999.

The United States defeated Canada, 50-7, in Vienna, Austria, for the 2011 gold medal. The U.S. beat Japan, 23-20, in double overtime in Kawasaki, Japan, to win the 2007 tournament, the first that included Team USA.

Prior to the United States’ participation, Japan earned gold medals at the first two IFAF Senior World Championships played in Palermo, Italy (1999), and Frankfurt, Germany (2003).

The last World Championship was held at Tom Benson Stadium, part of the Pro Football Hall of Fame complex in Canton, Ohio, in 2015. The games were shown live on ESPN3 and

The full schedule and results from that event are below:

July 18
Gold Medal Game: United States 59-12 Japan
Bronze Medal Game: Mexico 20-7 France
5th / 6th Place Game: Australia 42-14 South Korea

July 15
Brazil 8-16 Australia
Mexico 7-35 Japan
United States 82-0 France

July 12
Brazil 28-0 South Korea
Australia 3-53 France
United States 43-18 Japan

July 9
Australia 47-6 South Korea
Brazil 6-31 France
United States 30-6 Mexico

Roll of Honour
2011: Hosted in Austria. Gold: United States; Silver: Canada; Bronze: Japan
2007: Hosted in Japan. Gold: United States; Japan; Bronze: Germany
2003: Hosted in Germany. Gold: Japan; Silver: Mexico; Bronze: Germany
1999: Hosted in Italy. Gold: Japan; Silver: Mexico; Bronze: Sweden