World U19 Championship (m)

Home > EVENTS > World U19 Championship (m)

The u19 World Championship showcase some of the very best young talent from around the world every two years.

The 2016 edition of the event not only saw fierce competition but also marked a historic step in the growth of the sport with China hosting a global event for the first time.

The u19 world title has only ever been won by Canada and the United States with bragging rights alternating between the two. Canada are the reigning world champions.

2016 Competition

Sunday, July 10
Gold Medal Game: Canada 24, United States 6
Bronze Medal Game: Mexico 24, Japan 7

Saturday, July 9
Fifth place game: Austria 43, Australia 13
China is seventh place

Thursday, July 7
United States 50, Japan 20
Canada 28 Mexico 21

Wednesday, July 6
Australia 74, China 0
Austria gets bye

Sunday, July 3
Mexico 46, Austria 7
United States 32, Canada 14

Saturday, July 2
Japan 42, Australia 0
China gets bye

Thursday, June 30
Canada 30, Mexico 16
United States 65, Austria 14

Wednesday, June 29
Australia 72, China 0 
Japan gets bye

Roll of Honour:
2014: Hosted in Kuwait. Gold: United States; Silver: Canada; Bronze: Mexico
2012: Hosted in United States. Gold: Canada; Silver: United States; Bronze: Japan
2009: Hosted in United States: Gold: United States; Silver: Canada; Bronze: Japan
Photos c/o AFU China