15 September 2019

European titles decided after three days of thrilling competition

The European Flag Football Championship climaxed with Spain and Denmark securing the continental titles and cementing their status as real medal hopes for 2020 World Championships.

Jerusalem’s Kraft Family Sports Campus played host to a tournament featuring 11 teams in the women’s bracket and 10 teams in the men’s.

Fierce competition over the two opening days saw the field whittled down to six teams in both competitions.

In the women’s draw their superior records saw Denmark and Austria automatically qualify for the semi-finals whilst four other teams battled it out in two wild card games. Host nation Israel played Spain whilst Great Britain took on France.

Victories for the Spanish and British national sides set up two blockbuster semi-finals. Great Britain powered past Denmark 38-25 whilst Spain edged a thriller against the Danish 19-18.

Seemingly unaffected by the hard slog of the semi-final, Spain roared to gold with a comfortable 28-14 victory over Great Britain.
In the men’s draw the Danes as they had in the women’s, eased through to the semi-finals alongside host nation Israel, leaving Great Britain to take on France and Austria to take on Italy for the right to face them. Italy swept aside the Austrian team 40-22 whilst France saw off the British 38-33.

Two absorbing semi-finals saw Denmark narrowly defeat France 46-39 whilst it took until the final seconds for Israel and Italy to be separated, the latter wrapping up victory by a single point: 56-55.

The final saw Denmark live up to their billing as pre-tournament favourites, comfortably defeating the Italians 52-35.

Full results and standings can be found on  


World Championship

World Championship

2023 World Championship - Australia